The Making of the Ideal Physician

by Rosenow, Mansel & Wilson



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 12/8/2017

Format : E-Book
Dimensions : N/A
Page Count : 206
ISBN : 9781490783710
Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 7.5x9.25
Page Count : 206
ISBN : 9781490783703

About the Book

If you haven’t already needed medical care, the time will come. What are your expectations for your physician and/or your health-care provider? What do you want your doctors to know to help them help you? Edward C. Rosenow III, MD, J. Keith Mansel, MD, and Walter R. Wilson, MD, have a combined 100-plus years of experience in medicine and medical education. They are sharing that expertise with members of the medical community to help them better navigate the patient interaction and also offer them practical guidance as they move through their careers. The authors begin with advice about medical education for students who are planning a career in the health-care field. Readers will learn about the career process from residencies to fellowships to private practice or academic medicine. From the beginning of the book to the end, the focus always is on patients and remembering that every doctor should help their patients in the most professional manner possible—and always with empathy. In addition, the book includes a bonus chapter for patients, who will learn how to make the most of their time when they are with their health-care providers.

About the Author

Edward C. Rosenow III, MD, received his medical degree from The Ohio State University in 1959 and completed his residency in internal medicine and fellowship in pulmonary disease at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine & Science in 1965. He then joined the Mayo Clinic staff in Rochester, Minnesota, and is now retired from the Mayo Clinic Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine after thirty-one years. At the time of his retirement, Dr. Rosenow was the Arthur M. and Gladys D. Gray Professor of Medicine. One of his most cherished honors was receiving Mayo’s Karis (“caring” in Greek) Award because he believes that the gifts of caring and compassion often are more effective in healing than the powers of modern medicine. At the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine & Science, Dr. Rosenow was elected into the Mayo Fellows Hall of Fame of Outstanding Teachers, which is in addition to many other honors he has received as a result of his passion for education. Dr. Rosenow’s first book, "The Art of Living ...The Art of Medicine: The Wit and Wisdom of Life and Medicine: A Physician’s Perspective," was published in 2006. J. Keith Mansel, MD, was awarded his medical degree in 1979 from the University of Mississippi Medical Center School of Medicine, where he currently is Professor of Medicine. He trained in internal medicine and thoracic medicine at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine & Science from 1982 to 1985 and then worked in private practice in Jackson, Mississippi. Dr. Mansel returned to the Mayo Clinic in 2011 for a fellowship in palliative medicine and then joined the palliative care staff at Mayo Clinic until 2016, when he returned to the University of Mississippi Medical Center. He has achieved many honors and awards at both the University of Mississippi Medical Center and the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine & Science, which included several of Mayo’s top educator awards. Dr. Mansel has published numerous articles on pulmonary and critical care medicine as well as palliative care medicine. Walter R. Wilson, MD, received his MD from the Baylor College of Medicine, graduating AOA, and then completed his residency in internal medicine and fellowships in infectious diseases and microbiology at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine &Science. He currently holds the Edward C. Rosenow III, MD, Professorship in the Art of Medicine, Mayo Clinic School of Medicine. Dr. Wilson has received dozens of education awards from many sources, including the Henry S. Plummer Distinguished Physician Award. He is in the Teacher of the Year Hall of Fame at Mayo Clinic. In addition, he has received the Mayo Distinguished Clinician, the Distinguished Lecturer, the Distinguished Educator, and the Distinguished Faculty Service Awards. Dr. Wilson belongs to many national and international medical societies. He is recognized by his peers as an exemplary caring clinician.