Outskirts Of Inner Bowl

by Felix Bongjoh



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 9/27/2019

Format : E-Book
Dimensions : N/A
Page Count : 224
ISBN : 9781490797595
Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 224
ISBN : 9781490797588

About the Book

Based on the psychological trauma of death, especially through war and violence, and its meaning to the afflicted, the poems in this book dwell primarily on various perceptions of death and the way it affects man. So difficult is the phenomenon of death to comprehend, that the bereaved heal only partially, constantly relapsing into a mourning mood. The book is a reflection on how death drains man’s stamina to withstand agonizing adversity. Because of death’s long-lasting effects, the poet seizes the opportunity to explore the mind’s complexities, leading to its obscure character as it confronts new adverse experiences. Concluding that one can only explore the contours of the mind to penetrate the character of agony, the poet perceives the mind as an everlasting solid bowl, whose real core is never clearly understood. The title of the book directly derives from this perspective. Lastly, since death occurs in the context of ongoing life, including especially in the countryside and in urban settings, the book takes up other themes. The book explores various aspects of normal life, which may invariably shed light on the nature of man’s psychological stamina in the face of adversity.

About the Author

Felix Bongjoh, currently living in Boston, Massachusetts, is an International Human Capital Development Consultant, who previously worked for an international organization for some 30 years. In addition to the present twentieth book, Outskirts of Inner Bowl, Bongjoh has published 19 previous books of poetry as follows: (i) Chorus on a Bridge; (ii) Broken Gloss of Bliss; (iii) Nightfall at Dawn; (iv) When Dusk Hoots; (v) Weeds of Jewelry; (vi) Season of Flowers; (vii) The Ineluctable Spin; (viii) Gloom’s Sprout of Love; (ix) Spectrum of Zephyrs; (x) Whistles in the Wind; (xi) The Sun Still Glitters; (xii) Cliff of Sirens; (xiii) Quiet Shadows Scream; (xiv) Angle of Angels; (xv) Sculpted Out of Sky; (xvi) Feathers of Fur; (xvii) Through Sundry Waves; (xviii) Beyond Dying Ripples; and (xix) Doors to Eris.