Presidents of the Republic of the Congo

Defining the moments that shaped our nation

by Amphas Mampoua



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 4/3/2023

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 116
ISBN : 9781698714264
Format : Hardcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 116
ISBN : 9781698714271
Format : E-Book
Dimensions : N/A
Page Count : 116
ISBN : 9781698714288

About the Book

From independence on August 15, 1960, to the present day, the Republic of Congo, formerly Middle Congo, has undertaken many social, economic, and political transformations due to the leadership qualities of all presidents. Despite internal and external constraints, each president has expressed the will to lead the country toward prosperity. Since independence, six presidents have ruled the country, and each is unique. Congolese expect presidents to change things and improve their living conditions, and they blame them when they fail. This feeling is natural because the people perceive the president as the father of the nation, who must satisfy their needs and give them happiness. The father of the nation is the one who does not divide the people. The job of the president is not as easy as we think. Since presidents can’t satisfy everyone, they become lightning rods at a discount, often taking the blame for phenomena beyond the control of a single person.

About the Author

Mbow Amphas Mampoua is Professor of Political Science and International Relations at American University for Leaders (London). He is the author of Political Transformations of the Congo (Pentland Press, 2000) and The United States, Russia, and European Security (Dorrance Publishing, 2004). He is currently working on a book on global security. He lives in Washington DC (USA)