The Trained Killers

by Joseph N. Manfredo



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 8/3/2011

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 5.5x8.5
Page Count : 180
ISBN : 9781426974335
Format : E-Book
Dimensions : N/A
Page Count : 180
ISBN : 9781426974359
Format : Hardcover
Dimensions : 5.5x8.5
Page Count : 180
ISBN : 9781426974342

About the Book

“You gonna leave here a warriah, a trained killah! Gonna come a time when you life gonna depend on it, so pay attenshun!” June 25, 1950: North Korean armed forces, supported by the Soviet Union and China, drive deep into the heart of South Korea. They are met by the United States’ First Marine Division, and a draft is instituted back home. Able-bodied young men enrolled in college for “critical skills” receive temporary deferment; upon graduation they are obliged to serve a six-year term. July 27, 1953: An uneasy armistice is signed. The Cold War has suddenly gotten much hotter, and the draft remains in full effect. Two years later, a crop of college graduates in engineering and the sciences arrive at Fort Dix, New Jersey, for basic training and the start of their service with the Scientific and Professional Detachment. Author Joseph N. Manfredo’s The Trained Killers brings us the story of the troops of the S&P Detachment as they serve their country and the conflicting demands of their twin gods—science and the military—with dignity, wit and verve. In his humorous, true-to-life style, Manfredo recounts a series of vignettes of what army life was like for these unique troops during basic training and after assignment to the Army’s Aberdeen Proving Grounds. October 4, 1957: Russians launch Sputnik. An awareness of the urgent need to spur on American technological advances strikes the nation, giving the engineers, scientists and scullions of the S&P Detachment renewed hope for a more efficient use of their talents in the days ahead.

About the Author

Joseph N. Manfredo served in the US Army during the uneasy armistice following the Korean War, working on military research and development programs. He is also the author of Only the Living, a memoir, and After Midnight, a book of poems and pontifications. He currently lives in Southern California.