Staying Power

The Fruit of the Spirit Series Book 5

by Jean Ellis Hudson



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 11/28/2016

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 5.5x8.5
Page Count : 406
ISBN : 9781490778983
Format : E-Book
Dimensions : N/A
Page Count : 406
ISBN : 9781490778990
Format : Hardcover
Dimensions : 5.5x8.5
Page Count : 406
ISBN : 9781490779003

About the Book

Love. Sickness. Death. Happiness. Accidents. Marriage. Beatings. Laughter. Changes! Susannah Brown exhibited a loving patience and her family sought her out for advice and encouragement which she always provided. Unfortunately the arthritis she had began to take its toll. Jon, Ruth’s husband, came home from the war with shell shock and experienced many episodes with it to his dismay. Jeff often had nightmares of the war which in some ways were worse than what actually happened. Jeff meets Melody Martin at church, began to date her, eventually married her, despite her handicap, and they had children. Zeb Stuart, Jeff’s partner in building furniture, had a horrible experience with bootleg whiskey, despite Prohibition, which led him into serious trouble and a beating. Reggie Barnhouse from Britain came home with Jeff after the war and began to work on the farm. He was a good worker and enjoyed cutting up with Clyde Armour. The time they all lived through was “The Roaring Twenties”, called that because it was a wild ride. Many changes occurred, such as Prohibition, Henry Ford’s cars, radio, airplanes, a new kind of music and dancing, women’s right to vote, national sports, the KKK, immigration, political corruption, oilfields, Scopes Monkey Trial and the stock market crash of 1929.

About the Author

Jean Ellis Hudson has her B.A. and M.Ed. in Secondary Education/Social studies and taught high school for fifteen years. She went on to be a church secretary for ten years. Upon retiring, she followed her dream of writing which she has wanted to do since she was fifteen years old. It only took her fifty years to get there! She enjoys writing Christian historical fiction. Her first book, A Journey to Faith, received a positive review from the US Review of Books which earned the book The Gold Seal of Literary Excellence. This was the first book in the series called The Fruit of the Spirit Series. Her second book, Learning to Love, her third book, The Hardest Victory, and her fourth book, A Gentle Soul, continue the series, as well as this current book. Her interests include reading, writing, gardening, crafts, and graphic design. She lives with her husband, Jimmy, in North Georgia.